Friday, June 17, 2011

motorcycle paint gone bad

so, i've got a custom chopper i built in my garage. not much fab work, just some basic assembly.

well, i'm not a painter and i wanted to do something other then the old flat black.

i contacted a local painter, checked his credentials, spoke to past clients, so "called trust worthy people", no reason for them to lie about this painter.... all good things referenced. (time frame, quality of job, top paints, good price, everything, ....good character).... guy has it all. 15 years experience, all of that.

i contracted the painter for a silver metal flake base, candy tangerine paint job, with custom pinstriping and gold leaf, on a paughco ridgid frame, indian larry dished gas tank with fish scales in the dish, and a rear fender. the frameis  entirely molded where there were welds.

cost.....$3,300

"short story", dude gets the job done quickly, even gets me frame, tank, fender, before i paid him. i had the parts about two weeks until i paid him off. took about another two weeks of free time to re-assemble.

bike looks bad ass! figure like a cross between jesse james, and indian larry.

"i'll cut to the chase", THE PAINT FAILED. IT BUBBLED AROUND THE WASHERS, IT FLAKED AND PEELED FROM FRAME.(actually, it apears to have seperated from primer.) every place the paint has a bolt, of any type, 1/4 20 button head for a p-clamp, oil bag mounting point, fender mounting location,  brake stay tab, rubber bumper to prevent seat from contacting frame, uh,.... tank tabs, EVERYWHERE!!! YOU NAME IT. the paint has been compromised after just 5 RIDES. WTF.

this well respected painter is saying,"thats what you get with, the glamour flake paint". we did discuss rideability and he said certain locations would need to be cleared away, like the forward control mounts and motor mounts, but those locations have failed as well. he knew i rode this thing and tried to say that there is too much material, so the washers just literally sunk into the paint. i even used nylon washers, every where possible. I CANNOT BELIEVE THIS IS THE CASE!!!!! THERE IS NO F'N WAY!!!! NO WAY THIS CAN BE!!! 

dude says he's gonna repair the locations that have paint damage, (which is everywhere.) BUT ,he refuses to repaint the entire bike claiming he's been painting for 15 years, this is his job,.... to paint,.... i don't know what i'm talking about, that he can repair the problem locations.

i think this guy is fucking me hard, and i'm at his mercy.

i know i made a terrible mistake by not getting a written contract, or receipts. so the court thing is kinda out of the question.

i've taken the bike apart, and i'm going to give him the opportunity to make the repairs. due to all his references. but WTF? 

input????

No comments:

Post a Comment